2023 Comrades Marathon: Exciting Results Unveiled

The 96th edition of the Comrades Marathon (jump to results), one of the world’s most renowned ultra-marathons, took place on 11/06/2023. This grueling race, covering a distance of approximately 87 kilometers (54 miles) between Pietermaritzburg to Durban in South Africa, attracted thousands of elite athletes and passionate runners from around the globe. As always, this year’s race showcased incredible determination, athleticism, and the indomitable human spirit.
(Frequently Asked Questions)

In the men’s category, Tete Dijana emerged as the triumphant champion, crossing the finish line with an impressive time of 05:13:58. Dijana’s stellar performance showcased his exceptional endurance and unwavering commitment to excellence, securing him the coveted first place. Hot on his heels, Piet Wiersma claimed second place with a mere three-second difference, clocking in at 05:14:01. Their intense rivalry and neck-and-neck battle provided spectators with an exhilarating showdown.

Edward Mothibi, the defending champion, secured a commendable third place finish with a time of 05:17:34. Mothibi’s display of tenacity and resilience ensured that he remained a force to be reckoned with throughout the race. Gordon Lesetedi and Rufus Photo rounded out the top five with remarkable times of 05:20:43 and 05:21:48, respectively.

The women’s category witnessed an equally impressive display of talent and determination, with Gerda Steyn emerging as the female champion. Steyn, a formidable athlete, showcased her exceptional skill and endurance, crossing the finish line in a remarkable time of 05:44:54. Her victory is a testament to her unwavering commitment to excellence and her ability to push the boundaries of human achievement.

Adele Broodryk secured a well-deserved second place finish, clocking in at 05:56:26. Broodryk’s remarkable performance showcased her determination and perseverance, as she maintained a consistently strong pace throughout the race. Carla Molinaro claimed third place with an impressive time of 06:00:23, further cementing her reputation as a formidable competitor.

Dominika Stelmach and Caitriona Jennings displayed their extraordinary endurance and resilience, securing fourth and fifth places, respectively. Stelmach finished with a time of 06:06:02, while Jennings clocked in at 06:10:27. Their remarkable performances highlighted the depth of talent in this year’s women’s race.

The Comrades Marathon is known for attracting participants from a diverse range of backgrounds, each with their own unique story and motivations. Runners such as Alexandra Morozova, Petra Pastorova, and Noora Honkala demonstrated incredible determination and perseverance as they achieved impressive finishes in the grueling ultra-marathon.

It is worth noting that the Comrades Marathon is not just a race, but also a celebration of camaraderie and human spirit. The support from spectators, volunteers, and fellow runners creates an electric atmosphere, fueling the participants’ determination to overcome physical and mental challenges.

As the 96th edition of the Comrades Marathon came to a close, it was evident that the legacy of this iconic race remains as strong as ever. The remarkable performances by Tete Dijana and Gerda Steyn, along with the other top athletes, will be remembered as a testament to the enduring spirit of human achievement.

Congratulations to all the participants, regardless of their finishing positions, for their incredible dedication and commitment to this legendary race. The 2023 Comrades Marathon will undoubtedly be remembered as a testament to the power of the human spirit and the pursuit of excellence.

Male Top 10 Results

1Tete DIJANA (#28951)05:13:58
2Piet WIERSMA (#55335)05:14:01
3Edward MOTHIBI (#17472)05:17:34
4Gordon LESETEDI (#53883)05:20:43
5Rufus PHOTO (#29889)05:21:48
6Johannes MAKGETLA (#19952)05:23:34
7Teboho SELLO (#39607)05:24:23
8Aleksei BERESNEV (#45454)05:24:41
9Gift KELEHE (#18289)05:27:53
10Joseph MANYEDI (#28773)05:29:49

Female Top 10 Results

1Gerda STEYN (#30929)05:44:54
2Adele BROODRYK (#46307)05:56:26
3Carla MOLINARO (#21250)06:00:23
4Dominika STELMACH (#21237)06:06:02
5Caitriona JENNINGS (#21233)06:10:27
6Alexandra MOROZOVA (#20886)06:14:33
7Petra PASTOROVA (#42875)06:22:34
8Noora HONKALA (#6982)06:25:00
9Camille CHAIGNEAU (#56313)06:26:58
10Jenet MBHELE (#55368)06:27:14


Who won the 2023 Comrades?

In the 2023 Comrades Marathon, Tete Dijana emerged as the overall male champion with a remarkable time of 05:13:58. On the female side, Gerda Steyn claimed the title with an impressive time of 05:44:54. Both athletes showcased exceptional skill and

What is the record times for the downhill and uphill Comrades? (Male and Female)

Downhill Record:
: The current record for the downhill Comrades in 2023 stands at 05:13:58, achieved by Tete Dijana.
Female: Gerda Steyn set the record for the downhill Comrades in 2023 with a time of 05:44:54.

Uphill Record:
: Matt Fitzgerald (1975) – 05:24:07
Female: Elena Nurgalieva (2006) – 06:09:24

How far is the Comrades?

The Comrades Marathon covers a distance of approximately 87 kilometers (54 miles) between the cities of Durban and Pietermaritzburg in South Africa. It is an ultramarathon known for its challenging route and rich history, attracting participants from around the world.

How many participants took part in the 2023 Comrades Marathon?

The numbers still need to be confirmed, but it is expected that nearly 15 000 runners completed the 2023 Comrades Marathon.

Need your license?

Get your ASA License! Our community of passionate runners is pushing the limits and changing the game. Don’t miss out on the opportunity to be part of a generation-changing group.

Scroll to Top